Cannabidiol (CBD) is one of the biologically active compounds in hemp and cannabis plants alongside tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the most abundant active chemical compound found in these plants. THC has psychoactive properties, while CBD is non-psychoactive. CBD is more abundant in hemp plants, while THC concentrations are higher in cannabis.
Cannabidiol is thought to be effective in managing several medical conditions like diabetes, acne, Crohn's disease, arthritis, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, Parkinson's disease, HIV, and anxiety. CBD products are typically prepared as oils, edibles, tinctures, creams, lotions, and vaporizers.
The United States legalized industrial hemp cultivation through the Farm Bill (Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018). Therefore, industrial hemp-sourced CBD with less than 0.3% of THC is federally legal. Similarly, hemp-derived CBD containing less than 0.3% THC is legal in Mississippi.
Yes. The provisions of Senate Bill 2725 (Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Act) make it legal to purchase, use and sell hemp-sourced CBD products in Mississippi. Cannabis-sourced CBD products are illegal in Mississippi, except certified doctors recommended them.
Governor Tate Reeves signed the Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Act (SB 2725) into law on June 29, 2020, legalizing hemp cultivation in the state. It initially required the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce (MDAC) to regulate the state's hemp program and license growers and processors. However, the Act did not appropriate funds for implementing the hemp program. Hence, the MDAC instructs prospective hemp growers in Mississippi to obtain hemp producer licenses from the Domestic Hemp Production Program under the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). The USDA has not established guidelines for hemp processing. As of October 2021, there is no government agency issuing hemp processing licenses in Mississippi. Senate Bill 2725 permits the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station (MAFES) to produce cannabis-derived CBD for research. It also permits the National Center for National Products Research (NCNPR) at the University of Mississippi to manufacture cannabis-sourced CBD for research.
The Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Act does not specify the quantity of hemp-sourced CBD products a person can carry or impose age restrictions for CBD possession. CBD retailers in Mississippi generally sell CBD products only to persons 18 years and older, while some do not sell to customers under 21 years. Buyers may be required to show their identification cards as proof of age before buying CBD products.
Yes. The provisions of Senate Bill 2725 allow physicians in Mississippi to recommend CBD oil and other CBD products to marijuana patients. Qualifying medical conditions for CBD recommendation in Mississippi include cancer, HIV/AIDS, epilepsy, Parkinson's Disease, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, neurodegenerative diseases, chronic pain, and terminal illnesses.
Mississippi residents do not require licenses to sell hemp-sourced CBD products. However, any entity or individual interested in producing hemp for CBD must obtain licenses under the Domestic Hemp Production Program of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Applications for hemp producer licenses with the USDA are made online, and they are required to create accounts on the Hemp eManagement Platform (HeMP) to be able to apply. Interested persons must first meet the USDA's testing and samplingrequirements and secure their own testing and sampling agents.
Applicants must obtain Criminal History Reports from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). All key participants, sole proprietors, and partners of the proposed cannabis establishment must comply with the FBI identity history check. The FBI criminal history reports must be issued within 60 days preceding the date of application submission. The USDA will not issue hemp licenses to persons with controlled substance-related felony convictions within 10 years preceding their applications.
Applicants for Mississippi hemp producer licenses who cannot apply electronically can obtain physical copies of the application forms by sending email requests to the USDA's Domestic Hemp Production Program. Alternatively, they can make requests by calling 1 (202) 2491-720. However, USDA encourages interested persons to submit applications electronically because paper applications may be delayed. As of October 2021, the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce (MDAC) has not started accepting hemp processor applications.
The provisions of Senate Bill 2725 do not specify the labeling requirements for CBD oil and other CBD products in Mississippi. Generally, CBD products' labels must indicate the processor or grower's name, address, and permit number. Also, they must show the amount of CBD per serving, batch code, product expiry dates, storage instructions, product weight, quantity, and physical form. In addition, CBD products' labels usually include warnings that pregnant and breastfeeding persons should not use the products unless recommended by qualified doctors.
Mississippi residents can buy hemp-derived CBD oil and other CBD products from vape shops, wellness centers, grocery stores, dispensaries, and other retail shops within the state. They can also buy them from online stores.