Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card >
Mississippi Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
Mississippi Medical Marijuana Caregiver Information >
Mississippi Medical Marijuana Program >
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Mississippi >
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in Mississippi >
Replacement Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi >
Medical Marijuana Cost in Mississippi >
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Mississippi. On November 3, 2020, Mississippi voters approved a citizen initiative called Measure 65, which legalized medical marijuana in the state. On February 2, 2022, Senate Bill 2095 (the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act) was signed into law by Governor Tate Reeves as a follow-up to Measure 65. Per Senate Bill 2095, the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) is responsible for overseeing the Mississippi medical cannabis program and registering patients with qualifying medical conditions for medical marijuana treatment.
Registered medical marijuana patients and caregivers in Mississippi may legally purchase cannabis products from medical marijuana dispensaries in the state. For a person to qualify for medical marijuana treatment in Mississippi, they must be diagnosed with a severe medical condition by a qualified healthcare practitioner. According to Senate Bill 2095, the following medical conditions may qualify a person for medical marijuana treatment in Mississippi:
Yes, qualifying medical marijuana patients in Mississippi can get their medical cannabis cards online. After obtaining certifications for medical cannabis from licensed medical practitioners via telemedicine services, they can apply for their medical marijuana cards online using the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program Portal.
Anyone with a state-approved medical condition can register with the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Patient. However, they are required to visit a licensed medical professional participating in the state's medical cannabis program, who will diagnose and certify them for medical marijuana treatment. Once certified for medical marijuana, they can register with the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program Online using the state's dedicated cannabis program enrollment portal.
No. Per Rules 15-22-2-2.51 to 15-22-2-2.54 of the Mississippi Administrative Code, non-residents can obtain medical marijuana cards in the state. However, they must have qualifying medical conditions and submit their applications at least 30 days before arriving in Mississippi. Mississippi medical marijuana cards issued to non-residents are only valid for two separate 15-day periods in one year from the date of issuance.
As stipulated in Senate Bill 2095, medical marijuana patients in Mississippi are required to pay a $25 application fee for registry identification cards under the state's medical cannabis program. Payments are made online using debit or credit cards. Medical cannabis identification cards in Mississippi require renewal after one year, and cardholders are required to pay $25 for their card renewals. Also, caregivers are required to pay a $25 application fee when applying for medical marijuana caregiver cards under the Mississippi medical cannabis program.
According to the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act, Medicaid participants applying for medical marijuana registry identification cards under the state's medical cannabis program qualify for a reduced fee and only have to pay a $15 application fee. Also, Senate Bill 2059 waives the medical cannabis identification card application fees for disabled veterans and disabled first responders. Persons qualifying for fee waivers must provide documentation from the social security disability benefits office or any other document that proves that they are disabled or receiving financial aid.
When visiting a medical marijuana dispensary in Mississippi, a registered medical cannabis patient should bring their medical cannabis identification card and valid government-issued photo identification. Dispensaries usually check the Mississippi medical cannabis registry database to confirm the identities and registrations of medical cannabis patients before dispensing cannabis products to them.
Before applying for a medical marijuana card under the Mississippi medical cannabis program, a person must see a medical practitioner licensed to practice in the state. The medical practitioner will evaluate the patient to know if they are suffering from a medical condition that qualifies them for medical marijuana treatment. A medical practitioner may recommend medical marijuana based on their professional opinion and issue the patient with written certification for medical marijuana treatment. The kinds of medical practitioners who are allowed to issue written certifications for medical marijuana treatment in Mississippi are:
Medical practitioners must be registered with the Mississippi medical cannabis program before they can recommend marijuana therapy for patients. Nevertheless, the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) does not provide a registry of approved medical practitioners participating in the state's medical marijuana program.
In Mississippi, a person under the age of 18 that was diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition can use medical cannabis if their medical practitioner recommends it. Physicians are the only kinds of medical practitioners allowed to recommend medical marijuana treatment for minors in Mississippi. According to Senate Bill 2095, a qualified physician must explain the potential benefits and risks of medical marijuana to a minor's parent or legal guardian before certifying them for medical marijuana treatment. Also, the minor's parent or legal guardian must provide a written note that:
Yes. While minors need the permission of their custodial parents or legal guardians to apply for medical marijuana cards in Mississippi, adults do not. Mississippi regards applicants who are 18 years and older as adults. Therefore, minors turning 18 will be required to apply for their medical marijuana card as adults. As adults, they do not have to designate caregivers in their applications.
Registered medical cannabis patients in Mississippi may renew their identification cards online through the Mississippi medical marijuana program portal. Before renewing their cannabis registry identification card online, a medical marijuana patient must visit a qualified medical practitioner to obtain another written approval for medical marijuana treatment. A qualified medical practitioner may issue a renewal applicant with a medical cannabis certification if they consider medical marijuana treatment to still be beneficial to the patient based on their medical opinion. Per Senate Bill 2095, the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) will approve or deny a medical marijuana registry identification card renewal application within 30 days and inform the applicant of their decision. A successful applicant will receive their new card via mail within 5 days of getting the identification card application renewal notification.
The provisions of the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act do not permit medical marijuana patients or caregivers to grow cannabis plants at home. Only licensed cannabis cultivation facilities in the state may legally cultivate marijuana plants for the manufacture of cannabis products for medical use.
Medical marijuana patients in Mississippi are allowed to designate caregivers for themselves. According to the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act, a designated caregiver is a person who assists one or more registered medical marijuana patients with the acquisition, administration, and use of marijuana products. Medical marijuana caregivers in Mississippi are required to apply for caregiver identification cards under the state's medical cannabis program. To qualify as a caregiver, a person must be 21 years or older and have no prior conviction for violent crimes. The state does not assign caregivers to qualifying patients. Each caregiver is allowed to manage a maximum of five medical marijuana patients at once.
Mississippi does not permit out-of-state medical marijuana cards at licensed medical cannabis dispensaries within its boundaries. However, the state issues temporary medical cannabis cards for visiting qualifying cannabis patients.
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) mandates patients' medical marijuana records to be kept private in Mississippi unless disclosure is required in the public interest. For instance, medical marijuana records can be disclosed to the cops if required by law as stipulated in the HIPAA Privacy Rule. Similarly, employers can request their employees' medical cannabis records for information concerning work-related injuries or illnesses.
Health insurance does not cover medical marijuana in Mississippi.
A Mississippi medical marijuana card allows a qualifying cannabis patient to purchase up to six Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MCEUs) of allowable medical marijuana in one week.
A Mississippi-issued medical marijuana card is needed to obtain medical cannabis at a state-licensed medical marijuana dispensary.