No. The State of Mississippi bans recreational cannabis sales in all its jurisdictions, including the City of Gulfport, due to the status of the drug as a controlled substance under its Uniform Controlled Substances Law. Hence, there are no adult-use cannabis establishments in Gulfport.
Yes. Medical cannabis sales began in Gulfport in January 2023, and Gulfport patients with medical marijuana cards can find medical marijuana dispensaries in the city.
You can buy medical cannabis online from Gulfport dispensaries, but you must visit the store in person to pick up your order. Note that Mississippi bans the delivery of cannabis to buyers’ addresses.
Only persons looking to buy medical cannabis in Gulfport may visit dispensaries in the city, as recreational cannabis sales are banned in the city. If you are visiting a Gulfport dispensary to purchase medical cannabis, you must be enrolled in the Mississippi medical cannabis program and possess a medical marijuana card. Also, per state law, visitors with medical marijuana cards issued under the medical cannabis programs in their home states who have obtained non-resident IDs in Mississippi may use Gulfport dispensaries. These IDs will be scanned and verified before visitors enter the dispensing sites.
To find the locations of Gulfport cannabis dispensaries, search online using the keywords "Gulfport cannabis dispensaries near me." The search results will show Gulfport dispensaries' operation hours, addresses, and menus. Typically, you will be able to find medical marijuana products in the form of capsules, creams, smoke joints, flower, topicals, patches, sprays, ointments, vapes, lozenges, and edibles. Note that payments at the Gulfport dispensaries are typically completed with cash or debit cards.
Gulfport dispensaries may only sell medical cannabis to persons with valid medical marijuana cards. They must also comply with other Mississippi dispensary laws. Some of these laws include:
No dispensary may be located within a 1,500-foot radius of the main entry point of another dispensary
A dispensary may not be located within a 1,000-foot radius of a school, childcare facility, or church. However, a dispensary may receive a waiver to this distance buffer, provided the main point of entry of the dispensary is not located within a 500-foot radius of the school, church, or child care facility
A dispensary must prohibit cannabis use on its premises
A buyer's medical marijuana card or ID must be verified before purchasing medical cannabis
A dispensary may not sell medical marijuana products to a medical marijuana cardholder within one week, which results in the patient buying more than 6 MMCEUs. Per state definition, an MMCEU equals 1 gram of medical cannabis concentrates, 3.5 grams of medical cannabis flower, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused medical cannabis product
A Mississippi medical marijuana cardholder may not be sold more than 24 MMCEUs during any rolling 30-day period. A non-Mississippi resident cardholder may not receive more than 12 MMCEUs during any rolling 15-day period
Recreational cannabis is illegal in the City of Gulfport. Persons caught in possession or selling it face severe consequences.
Gulfport abides by the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act (MMCA), which makes medical cannabis legal statewide in Mississippi. Per the MMCA:
Gulfport patients with approved conditions under the Mississippi medical cannabis program who have obtained medical marijuana cards from the MDOH (Mississippi Department of Health) can purchase and possess medical cannabis legally
Out-of-state patients with active medical marijuana cards are also allowed to access cannabis at licensed medical cannabis dispensaries by providing their medical marijuana cards and non-Mississippi resident IDs
In-state patients with medical marijuana cards from the MDOH are allowed to have up to 6 MMCEUs of medical cannabis in a week from a dispensary or a combination of medical cannabis dispensaries. An in-state medical cannabis cardholder may not possess more than a total of 24 MMCEUs of allowable medical cannabis in 30 days from a dispensary or a combination of dispensaries
An out-of-state patient with a valid medical marijuana card may purchase no more than 12 MMCEUs during any rolling 15-day period
Smoking or vaping cannabis in public and being in control of a motor vehicle or machinery under the influence of medical marijuana is illegal
Cultivating cannabis at home is illegal
The first step in getting a Mississippi medical marijuana card in Gulfport is to visit a physician, nurse practitioner, or optometrist participating in the state medical cannabis program. The goal of the visit is to obtain a recommendation for medical marijuana use. During your visit, the healthcare provider will determine if you have one of the approved conditions, and if so, issue and register your medical cannabis certification with the state medical cannabis program. If you are a minor, the certification must be issued by a Doctor of Medicine or Osteopathy.
Within 60 days of getting your medical cannabis certification, you must complete an application online to the Mississippi medical cannabis program. On the application, you will be required to upload proof of identity and residency in Gulfport. You must also pay a $25 application fee. If you are a disabled veteran or Medicaid beneficiary, you may be eligible to pay a discounted fee of $15. You will get an electronic ID card within 10 days of completing your application, valid for a specific period stipulated by your certifying physician.
For more details on getting a medical marijuana card in Gulfport, review the medical marijuana card application guide or see the medical marijuana license page of the state medical cannabis program website.
You may use medical marijuana on private property in Gulfport but not in public locations. Regardless of where you consume recreational cannabis in the city, it is illegal.
You may purchase medical cannabis at a Gulfport Dispensary if you have an active medical marijuana card issued by the Mississippi Department of Health or in your home state as an out-of-state patient. It is recommended that you bring cash and another government-issued ID card along with the medical marijuana license to verify your identity and age.
Three and one-half grams of cannabis flower in Gulfport costs between $40 and $60.
Some of the most popular cannabis strains in Gulfport include:
No. The Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act prohibits smoking cannabis in public spaces.
Gulfport or Mississippi patients in Gulfport can possess 6 MMCEUs of allowable medical marijuana per week or up to 24 MMCEUs of allowable medical marijuana per month. Non-residents of the city or state may possess up to 12 MMCEUs during a rolling 15-day period. Note that 1 MMCEU equals 100 milligrams of THC in cannabis-infused products, 1 gram of concentrated cannabis, or 3.5 grams of flower.
No. It is illegal to ship cannabis (recreational or medical) across state lines into or out of Gulfport. However, you can transport medical cannabis securely in the trunk of your vehicle to or out of Gulfport as long as you remain within the boundaries of Mississippi.
It is impossible to order recreational cannabis online as it is banned in the city. While you may order medical cannabis online in Gulfport, cannabis delivery is illegal. Therefore, you must visit the retailer's address to pick up your order.
There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Gulfport.
Gulfport tourists can use medical marijuana dispensaries in the city in accordance with state law if they have been issued valid non-resident IDs in Mississippi. Such visitors must also have medical marijuana cards issued under their states’ medical cannabis programs.
Yes. You need a valid medical marijuana card and a government-issued ID to use Gulfport dispensaries.
Leafmed is a leading medical cannabis dispensary in Gulfport.
Yes. In accordance with state law, all Mississippi dispensaries must verify the ages and identities of customers entering their premises.
As of February 2023, six medical marijuana dispensaries have been licensed to operate in the City of Gulfport.
Gulfport dispensaries do not take credit cards. Cash or debit cards are usually accepted.
Qualified patients are allowed to visit as many dispensaries as they would like in one day.
Health insurance plans do not typically cover cannabis purchases. Hence, they are not accepted at Gulfport dispensaries.
Yes. Gulfport dispensaries use the state-approved metrc application to track cannabis sales as Mississippi law requires.
If you are 18 and have an active medical marijuana card, you can enter a Gulfport dispensary.
The Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) administers the medical cannabis program in Gulfport. You may contact the MSDH at:
570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive
Jackson, MS 39216
Phone: (601) 576-7400
Toll-Free Phone: (866) 458-4948
To share a complaint or concern about a licensed medical cannabis facility in Gulfport, contact the Mississippi State Department of Health using its online complaint form. You can also report illicit cannabis activities in the city to the Gulfport Police Department. To reach the Gulfport PD, call its non-emergency line at (228) 868-5959.