Marijuana Dispensaries in Jackson

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Jackson?

No. There are no recreational cannabis dispensaries in the City of Jackson. Marijuana is listed as a Schedule I Controlled Substance under Section 41-29-113 of the Mississippi Uniform Controlled Substances Law and is not legally sold in all Mississippi jurisdictions.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Jackson?

Although some cannabis businesses have obtained licenses to open medical cannabis retail stores in the City of Jackson, they are yet to begin operations. Retail sales are expected to start in early 2023.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Jackson?

No. You cannot buy cannabis online in Jackson. The city abides by state law which bans the delivery of cannabis products to medical cannabis registry cardholders.

Visiting a Dispensary in Jackson

You cannot yet visit a cannabis dispensary in the City of Jackson as no such cannabis business is open in the jurisdiction. Recreational cannabis is not legal in the state and is thus not approved for sale by any dispensary. However, medical cannabis sales are permitted but are yet to begin in the city.

However, when medical cannabis dispensaries open in the city, visitors will be required to show proof of enrollment in the Mississippi medical cannabis program in the form of medical marijuana cards. Per state law, visitors in Jackson dispensaries will be able to buy medical cannabis products, including flowers, extracts, edibles, beverages, topical products, oils, ointments, tinctures, and suppositories. To find the addresses of cannabis dispensaries nearby in Jackson, search online using the search term "cannabis dispensaries near me."

Jackson Dispensary Laws

The state laws on medical cannabis dispensary operations guide the activities of medical cannabis dispensaries in the City of Jackson:

  • A cannabis dispensary may not be located within 1,000 feet of a school, childcare facility, or church, except where a waiver has been obtained to establish a dispensary Regardless of a waiver, a dispensary may not be located within 500 feet of any of the listed property types

  • A dispensary may not be located within 1,500 feet of another cannabis dispensary

  • A dispensary may not sell any group or set of marijuana products to a cardholder within one week, which results in the cardholder receiving more than six MMCEUs. An MMCEU is equal to 3.5 grams of medical cannabis flower, 1 gram of medical cannabis concentrates, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused medical cannabis product

  • A resident medical marijuana cardholder may not receive more than 24 MMCEUs during any rolling 30-day period from a dispensary or multiple dispensaries. A non-resident cardholder may not obtain more than 12 MMCEUs from a dispensary or multiple dispensaries during any rolling 15-day period

  • Before a dispensary may sell cannabis products, the dispensary employee must verify the validity of the buyer's medical marijuana card by scanning the card

  • A dispensary may not repackage cannabis products from their original packaging as received from the cultivator or processor

  • A dispensary must not conduct any cannabis sale without face-to-face verification of the buyer's identity and cardholder status by scanning the medical marijuana card

  • A dispensary must not sell any item to a non-cardholder

  • A dispensary must not sell a form of medical marijuana product to a patient whose patient card indicates that the individual is restricted to only receiving a specific form of medical cannabis product

  • A dispensary must not sell cannabis using a drive-through sales window, curbside service, or a delivery service

  • A dispensary must not sell cannabis trim or flower with a potency higher than 30% THC or cannabis edibles, oils, tinctures, or concentrates with a potency higher than 60%

  • A dispensary must not sell cannabis products to an individual who is visibly intoxicated

  • Cannabis use on the grounds of a dispensary is illegal

Recreational Laws in Jackson

Recreational cannabis is illegal in the City of Jackson, pursuant to state law which lists cannabis as a prohibited substance under the Mississippi Uniform Controlled Substances Act. However, the Jackson Council voted to decriminalize marijuana in 2018, amending Chapter 86, Article III of the Jackson Code of Ordinances. Note that decriminalization is not the same as legalization.

The amendment or decriminalization statute only limits the maximum punishment for possessing 30 grams of cannabis to a $100 fine with no jail time penalty attached to first-time offenses.

Medical Cannabis Laws in Jackson

Medical cannabis is legal in Jackson for qualifying patients who have completed registrations with the Mississippi Department of Health. Although Mississippi voters first legalized medical cannabis through Initiative 65 in November 2020, the state supreme court struck down the measure and the Mississippi ballot referendum process in May of the following year. However, in February 2022, the Mississippi legislature passed SB 2095, also called the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act (MMCA), which was signed into law by Governor Tate Reeves.

Under SB 2095, Jackson patients suffering from approved conditions must obtain recommendations from qualified medical practitioners and register with the state. Applicants may get medical cannabis recommendations from a Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine. While Jackson patients over 18 may complete their registrations by themselves, minor patients will require the help of their parents or legal guardians to complete the process.

Upon obtaining a medical marijuana card under the Mississippi medical cannabis program, Jackson patients may purchase up to 3.5 grams of cannabis flower, 1 gram of concentrated cannabis, or 100 milligrams of THC in infused cannabis products daily for six days per week, monthly. SB 2059 prohibits smoking, dabbing, or vaping cannabis in public and operating a motor vehicle under the influence of medical cannabis. The home growing of cannabis is illegal under the Mississippi medical marijuana legalization law.

Jackson employers are not required to permit medical cannabis use or modify working conditions in favor of employees using medical cannabis. They are also not prohibited from refusing to hire or taking adverse employment action against employees as a result of employees' use of medical cannabis.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Jackson

To be eligible for a medical marijuana card in the City of Jackson, you must have one of the approved conditions. The approved conditions are:

  • Alzheimer's disease

  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)

  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

  • Ulcerative colitis

  • Glaucoma

  • Spinal cord disease or severe injury

  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)

  • Cancer

  • Huntington's disease

  • Agitation of dementia

  • Spastic quadriplegia

  • Autism

  • Muscular dystrophy

  • Pain refractory to appropriate opioid management

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

  • Crohn's disease

  • Parkinson's disease

  • Diabetic or peripheral neuropathy

  • Hepatitis

  • Sickle-cell anemia

Also, you are eligible to receive a medical marijuana card if you have a chronic terminal condition or a debilitating ailment or condition or its treatment producing one or more of the following:

  • Chronic pain

  • Seizures

  • Cachexia

  • Severe or intractable nausea

  • Severe and persistent spasms, including but not restricted to spasms of multiple sclerosis

The first step towards obtaining a medical marijuana card is to visit a physician, optometrist, or nurse practitioner participating in the Mississippi medical cannabis program. The healthcare practitioner will determine whether you have an approved medical condition. If the practitioner's determination proves you have a qualifying condition and that the ailment will benefit from medical cannabis use, the medical professional will issue you a medical cannabis certification. Note that a medical cannabis certification is not a prescription.

Within 60 days of obtaining the medical cannabis certification, you must apply online as a patient to the Mississippi medical cannabis program by following the steps in the application portal user guide. There is a standard nonrefundable fee of $25 for your application. The fee is $15 for Medicaid beneficiaries and free for disabled veterans.

Upon the approval of your application, you will receive an identification card from the Mississippi State Department of Health. You will be issued an electronic identification card within 5-10 days of submitting your application. The card is valid for a period specified by your certifying practitioner or a maximum of 12 months. After obtaining your medical marijuana identification card, you may select a licensed dispensary where you intend to purchase medical cannabis.

For more information on obtaining a medical cannabis card in Jackson, email or visit the medical cannabis licensing page of the Mississippi medical cannabis program.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Jackson?

You may consume medical cannabis in private homes or properties in Jackson but not in public. Recreational cannabis use is illegal in the city.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Jackson Dispensary

Presently, there are no operational medical cannabis dispensaries in the City of Jackson. However, medical cannabis sales are legal, and Jackson businesses have been licensed to begin operations. When sales of medical cannabis start in the city in 2023, you may visit the physical locations of such establishments to buy medical cannabis if you have a medical marijuana card.

The Average Price in Jackson

Medical cannabis sale in the City of Jackson is yet to commence. Recreational cannabis sales are illegal.

Most Popular Strains in Jackson

Popular weed strains in Jackson will only be known when medical cannabis sales begin in the city in 2023.

Can You Smoke in Public in Jackson?

No. Public consumption or smoking of cannabis is prohibited under the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act (MMCA). The Act does not permit medical cannabis smoking in a public space or a motor vehicle. Medical cannabis products must be taken off-site from licensed medical cannabis dispensaries to be consumed.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Jackson?

Possession limits under the MMCA for medical cannabis patients are calculated based on MMCEUs (Mississippi Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units). The MMCA defines an MMCEU as 3.5 grams of flower, 100 milligrams of THC in cannabis-infused products, and one gram of cannabis concentrate. Patients (residents and non-residents) may not buy more than six MMCEUs per week (21 grams), 24 MMCEUs in a month (84 grams), or 28 MMCEUs per time (98 grams). A resident medical marijuana patient may purchase no more than 24 MMCEUs during a rolling 30-day period, while a non-resident medical marijuana patient may purchase and possess no more than 12 MMCEUs during a rolling 15-day period.

The MMCA also established potency caps for medical cannabis products. Purchased medical cannabis flowers may not exceed 30% THC, while oils, concentrates, and tinctures may not exceed 60%.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Jackson?

No. With weed still prohibited under the United States Controlled Substances Act, shipping it across state lines in Jackson is illegal.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Jackson?

Yes. You may order cannabis online from the only medical cannabis dispensary in the city if you are a registered medical cannabis patient. However, you cannot order adult-use marijuana online in the city.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Jackson?

There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Jackson.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Jackson?

Tourists in the City of Jackson can only use medical cannabis dispensaries, as Mississippi allows for reciprocity in its medical marijuana program. However, medical cannabis sales are yet to begin in the city. When licensed medical cannabis retail stores open in the city, tourists will be able to visit such facilities to obtain medical cannabis. Note that such tourists must have medical marijuana cards from their home states and have non-resident ID cards in Mississippi.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Jackson?

Yes. When medical cannabis sales begin in Jackson in 2023, you must provide a valid medical marijuana card to purchase medical cannabis at a licensed medical cannabis dispensary in the city. You cannot purchase adult-use cannabis as it is illegal in the city.

Best Dispensaries in Jackson

There are presently no weed dispensaries in Jackson.

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Jackson?

Yes. Chapter 22 of the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Dispensary Regulations requires medical marijuana dispensaries statewide to verify the validity of patient cards by scanning their cards before permitting them to buy medical cannabis.

How Many Dispensaries are in Jackson?

Although dispensaries are yet to open in the city, of the 138 provisional licenses issued by the state Department of Health, over 15 medical cannabis dispensaries have been approved to sell medical cannabis to qualified patients in Jackson.

Can Dispensaries in Jackson Take Credit Cards?

Dispensaries are yet to open in the city. However, it is unlikely that credit cards will be accepted when medical cannabis retail outlets open in the city as credit card companies typically avoid supporting cannabis transactions.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

The MMCA allows qualified patients to visit multiple medical cannabis dispensaries in one day. However, medical cannabis buyers will not be able to buy more MMCEUs than is permitted under law.

Do Dispensaries in Jackson Take Health Insurance?

No. The Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act does not require health insurance or state plans to cover medical marijuana; hence Jackson dispensaries will not accept health insurance.

Do Dispensaries in Jackson Track How Much Weed You Buy?

Yes. Chapter 22 of the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Dispensary Regulations require medical cannabis dispensaries statewide to use an electronic tracking system to track cannabis purchases in their facilities.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Jackson at Age 18?

You can enter medical marijuana dispensaries operating in the city if you are 18 or older and have a valid medical marijuana card. You cannot yet enter a recreational marijuana dispensary in the city as no such cannabis establishment exists there.

Where Can I Find Jackson Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

Although licensing of medical cannabis dispensaries in the city is administered by the state Department of Revenue (MDOR), the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) oversees the medical cannabis program in all state jurisdictions. You may contact the MSDH at:

570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive

Jackson, MS 39216

Phone: (601) 576-7400

Toll-Free Phone: (866) 458-4948

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Jackson?

To report illegal cannabis operations in the City of Jackson, file a complaint online to the Mississippi State Department of Health or the Jackson Police Department.